Chickenless ‘Chick’en Salad Sandwich

I used to work at a fantastic deli when I was in college. The owner made a mean chicken salad. She would often add halved red grapes and serve it in a halved cantaloupe. I am not one to mix fruit in my sandwich, so here’s my version. Okay, not quite chicken salad, but a great sandwich filler. I happened to have mine on a spinach wrap today. Oh and did I mention? No chicken!

Ingredients:
2 c. chickpeas (drained or thawed)
1/2 red pepper (finely chopped)
2-3 celery stalks (finely chopped)
3-4 tablespoons of mayo (vegan or homemade with tofu)
ground pepper to taste

Directions:
Mash chickpeas (I used a pastry blender). Chop red pepper and celery. Add ‘mayo’ and pepper to taste. Mix until well blended. Scoop onto a wrap, bread, or cantaloupe. Enjoy!

Leave a comment