Boycotting Valentine’s Sweets

I don’t bake much but I hear that coconut oil is all the rage in vegan baking and cooking. Since this mostly vegetarian family is also trying to save money, I can’t really justify “trying” just any coconut oil. But then, I saw that Trader Joe’s recently started carrying some. I hear it averages $5.99 for a pint. I can handle that, since it is a substitute for Earth Balance and extra virgin olive oil. (I have also been told that you can use it for eczema. So I can stop using my crazy expensive prescription goop). So, I called my closest store (Rochester, MI) and they laughed at me! The person who answered the phone told me that they can’t even stock the shelves fast enough. So I am thinking this must be good stuff? Now I really need some.
I intended on making some tasty Valentine’s sweets, with coconut oil, for the mostly veg husband and the little vegetarians. I needed to know what all the fuss was about so I started researching some uses for coconut oil. Interesting enough, here are some other uses:
-Eczema – in addition to taking it internally, many have success applying it externally (sounds good to me! Will I smell delicious like coconut?)
-Fitness – coconut oil has been proven to stimulate your metabolism, improve thyroid function, and escalate energy levels, all of which help decrease your unwanted fat, while increasing muscle ( I didn’t see any links to any studies that proved this. Seems kind of high in calories but what do I know?)
-Use 1 cup to 1 cup ratio when replacing other oils/butter in recipes with coconut oil. (This was my initial goal. To use in some really cute baked donuts using the recipe from http://peasandthankyou.com/recipage/?recipe_id=6016706)
-Replacement for butter/lard/Crisco/PAM in it’s solid form – greasing pans, pie crusts, etc. (or maybe a chocolate tofu mousse pie with coconut oil used in the crust).
-Lubricant – it is an all natural, perfectly safe personal lubricant. Not compatible with latex! (Holy cow! Seriously? Who came up with this? I don’t want to know, but it is almost Valentine’s Day. Someone might need this for that.)
So now I am intrigued and unable to get my hands on Trader Joe’s coconut oil. I am going to boycott baking until I can get some.
Has anyone used coconut oil and what were your findings? (Keep it clean, I don’t need to know about the last use I mentioned people!). Or if you work for Trader Joe’s; send me some!

2 responses

  1. I recently used it for the first time to make a curry and it smelled. so. good. So good! I haven’t tried baking with it, though–that seems potentially complicated to me because it’s solid at room temperature (at least in winter!).

Leave a Reply

