Stuffed Acorn Squash- no berries or nuts!

My husband and I are usually a very organized team. We have been very side-tracked lately. Sick kids can throw parents for a complete loop. It usually starts with kids sleeping in much later than usual. Then it moves onto a decrease in appetite. The little noses begin to run. When the noses dry up, the cough comes. It is not just any cough, it is the “smoker’s cough”. You know, the one that your great-great aunt Marge has after smoking un-filtered 100’s for 80 years. Then they start getting up in the night. Coughing until they puke. Then there is a fever and then they pass it on. In our house, nobody is sick at the same time. It usually starts with the oldest child. He brings the sickness home from kindergarten. He shares it with the 2-year-old. After 2 weeks of sleepless nights, wiping noses, getting coughed on, and running completely ragged, one of us get it.

But we still have to eat:

Stuffed Acorn Squash

I have nothing against stuffed acorn squash recipes with dried raisins/cranberries and walnuts, but it isn’t my thing. I am not much for sweet and savory. I like hearty. So, I sautéed onion and garlic with mushrooms, carrots, celery and chopped kale. I added in some leftover bulgur and chickpeas. Seasoned with sage, sea salt and pepper. And threw in 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance Butter for some richness. Scooped it into some baked acorn squash and called it dinner. It was very hearty. I will have to remember this for Thanksgiving next year.

Meanwhile, the mostly vegetarian husband and I are still healthy. I think it is the kale smoothies we almost OD’ed on over the weekend. I feel a tickle in my throat…….I am off to make a kale smoothie.

Leave a Reply

