Coconut Ginger Lime Bowl

I have been off the radar a bit with sick kids. I have been busy though. We finally had the coconut ginger lime concoction that I was blogging about last week. I did sneak in some shrimp, but the mostly vegetarian husband and I agreed that it would be great with cubed tofu. Heck, I would eat anything in this sauce! With the risk of sounding all Rachael Ray, it’s not soup and it’s not stew……but I would lick it off the floor if a drop was spilled.

I might even bathe in this sauce, if it weren’t for the hot pepper flakes. So here it is:

Ingredients:
3 cloves garlic chopped
2-3 tablespoons fresh ginger chopped
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (or more to taste)
1 large red pepper julianned
2 large carrots, peeled and julianned
1 lime (zested and juice)
2 cans of lite coconut milk (unsweetened)
1 c. mung bean sprouts
2 green onions chopped
1 package of extra firm tofu, pressed and cubed
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 package of phad thai rice noodles- cooked according to package directions

Directions:

1.) In a large skillet, saute garlic, red pepper flakes and ginger for 2 minutes (do no burn). Add in tofu and cook until lightly browned on all sides. Pour tofu onto a plate and set aside.
2.) Cook red peppers and carrots in original skillet for 1 minute. Add in soy sauce, zest from lime and the juice. Stir in coconut milk. Heat through and add tofu back in.
3.) In the last 2 minutes of cooking, add in bean sprounts.
4.) Put some rice noodles in a bowl. Laddle mixture over the noodles. Sprinkle some green onions on top. Enjoy!

Meanwhile, the kids are sick with nasty colds so I am stuck inside. I baked again! A mountain of muffins

I am starting to think that I could get into vegan baking. No eggs and no oil in either of these recipes. Spiced carrot and blueberry.

 It may appear that I am packing a lot into one post today, but I feel that the little sick veggie kids are going to spread the wealth and infect me. They are like little ebola monkeys running around. I better go thaw some veggie soup. I think I am going to need it.

 

Leave a Reply

