Test drive

The mostly vegetarian family just finished dinner. I felt that I needed to report the verdict on Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs. I test drove them in a skillet of homemade spaghetti sauce served over whole grain noodles. The kids didn’t complain, but they don’t know that they aren’t eating meat (that is another whole post in its self). The mostly veg husband said, “not too bad.” Personally, I think I could still try to master the homemade veggie meatball. I am not impressed with the $2.00 bag of “meat”balls from Trader Joe’s. They do look good though.

The texture was ok. They were very bland. The directions say that they should sit in sauce for 10 minutes. I believe they would have fallen apart if they sat in the sauce any longer. This is the same problem that I keep having with the homemade ones. The ingredients include TVP and wheat gluten. I have yet to try the combination at home. And, I can’t fathom spending even a few dollars on a sodium filled store-bought meatball.  I am going to keep experimenting and see what I come up with. I am not trying to create a true replacement for a good MEATball, but I am still on the hunt for a meatless ball that can hold up to a killer sauce.

Has anyone had any luck trying to create a meatless meatball? I am not against throwing an egg in the mix…….if not; I can always go back to various versions of my killer sauce (beans, zucchini, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, roasted peppers, leftover roast veggies, etc.)

Leave a Reply

