Reindeer food

This is a fun idea that I have seen posted all of the internet lately. Ok, this isn’t for people, but the kids get a kick out of it. Reindeer food! Cute idea huh? I made a bunch of these for the oldest mostly vegetarian kid’s kindergarten class. They are fairly inexpensive to make and don’t fill the kids full of sugar.

They turned out pretty cute too! I found place setting cards on clearance at Michael’s craft store. They also had the little baggies there too. I just dropped a few tablespoons of the mixture into the baggies, folded them over and stapled the place card over it. Viola! Instant cuteness! I printed out the little saying on folder labels and stuck them on each one. The important part is probably the mix:

-rolled oats (I ran out and used instant too)

-a bunch of glitter (I used silver)

-and a few raisins for good measure

The idea is to have the kids sprinkle the mixture onto the lawn on Christmas Eve. The glitter is supposed to help the reindeer find their house first this year.

On a more important note- what have we been eating since I haven’t posted in a few days. One word- LEFTOVERS. I will often make double amounts of some dishes and freeze half. We have been living off of that for a few days. It is fairly fast and easy. Kale salad, burritos, leftover seitan pot roast, and spinach/ tofu/ artichoke heart lasagna. Tonight, we are having the last of the seitan on sandwiches. Kind of a make shift reuben/dinte moore sandwich. I made a little potato salad too.

The week before Christmas is always really busy in our house. We may be tapping into my frozen soup/ stew supply this week.

What’s on your menu this week? Cookies?

Leave a Reply

