Kale and White bean salad

The little people have infected me. I have spent the greater part of a week wiping noses, counters, handles, and washing my hands vigorously but I feel a nasty cold taking me down. My mother would blame it on the fact that I do not believe in taking vitamins. Why would I take vitamins if I get all the nutrients I need from food? Why add a little processed pill to the mix? And, nobody seems to be sure if we are actually absorbing all of those processed pills anyway. Seems like a waste of money too! So how am I going to fight this cold? A neti pot, a killer vitamin and antioxidant packed salad and coffee of course!

I made a huge batch of white bean and kale salad this morning. (I anticipate passing this onto the mostly vegetarian husband).

4 c chopped fresh kale (ribs removed)

1 c. cooked (and thawed) cannellini beans

2 oz. crumbled feta cheese

2 – 3 tablespoons of drained capers

1-2 tablespoons of olive oil and vinegar dressing (preferably homemade)

So what’s so great about this salad? Kale provides vitamins, antioxidants, and flavonoids. The canellini beans provide twice as much iron as beef, giving you energy to spare. The capers also provide antioxidants.

Can I guarantee that this salad is going to blow my cold out of my body? No. But it sure tastes good!

What natural remedies do you use for the common cold?

2 responses

  1. This sounds yummy! I like the name of your blog, by the way. The reason I’ve gotten into the habit of not eating much meat is simply because when I was a student I didn’t have much money 😀

Leave a comment