Another night off!

Guess who had another night off!? Yep, you guessed it- me. In all honesty, I do get a lot of nights off from my motherly duties, especially this time of year. I went out to dinner and the mostly vegetarian husband took the kids Christmas shopping for me. It was a win win for me all around.

Eating veg out is very hard for me still. It is hard to find a good salad even. Every restaurant seems to want to put a chicken breast or bacon on a perfectly good plate of lettuce. I opted for a stir fry place to ensure I could get a few more options. I had an amazing bowl of coconut curry tofu and veggies over noodles. I think I tasted cinnamon? I might have to try a “re-creation” someday soon. The husband took the kids to a very non veg place. It consists of wings, wings, and more wings. That is all I am going to say. I am proud to report that the littlest mostly vegetarian kid refused his cheeseburger and ate everyone else’s carrots and celery. That’s my boy!

I have been dying to share this deliciousness with you for a few days. It is one of my “re-creations”. I had the most amazing veggie sub on Mackinac Island. It had roasted red peppers, artichoke hearts, Portobello mushrooms, onions, pesto, and melted fresh mozzarella cheese. I have attempted this a few times; with different variations. My latest change was to lather some ciabatta bread with humus, top with veggies and fresh mozzarella cheese and broil.

For tonight: I pulled some seitan cutlets from the freezer. I am probably going to pan fry those in fresh garlic. I also need to use up my asparagus that has been sitting in water for a few days. I might chop a few chopped red skin potatoes, toss in some garlic and rosemary and roast them in the oven. It is a dragon breathe garlic kind of an evening!

Leave a Reply

