Better than take-out

Wow! Better than take-out and no MSG! This recipe is not one of the healthiest; with brown sugar and canned pineapple (in juice not syrup), but pretty yummy.

I would definitely make this again, but probably add red peppers, pea pods, and some thinly sliced carrots. I found the recipe on the website: all recipes.com. Here is the link: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-and-sour-seitan/detail.aspx.

I used my own homemade seitan and served over brown rice. I think tofu could just as easily be used as a substitute for the seitan. This one is a keeper for when you are craving take out sweet and sour.  It was quick too! The recipe serves 4, but I doubled the amount of seitan and peppers. There was still quite a bit of sauce. It was also far cheaper than take out. It works out to be less than $2.00 per serving (when using homemade seitan). Now I just have to work on a fast spring roll recipe for the next time I make this!

Leave a Reply

