Waiting for Thanksgiving leftovers

Bah hum bug. It is no secret that I have never been a fan of the holidays. I do love to cook for a crowd, but sometimes people complain. “I don’t like green beans.” “It doesn’t taste like Grandma’s.” You are right, green beans should have a certain crunch to them. I don’t like the ones out of a can either. And no, whatever I make will not taste like your Grandma’s; I made it from scratch with whole ingredients. I refuse to add water and microwave “Grandma’s” (Stovetop) stuffing. So, this year, it is just the four of us. Here is what is on deck for the big day:

Turkey…..yes, there is a dead bird in my fridge right now. He is chilling quietly. He is waiting for my dear husband to turn him/her upside down and yank the neck and other “extras” out of the mostly hollow cavity only to re-stuff him/her with apples, onions, and some fresh herbs. Needless to say, my most vegetarian (except for Thanksgiving) husband will have enough turkey leftovers to last him until next year.

Now, onto the more important and tastier tidbits; roasted brussels spouts, green beans almondine (no canned, BPA laced beans here), un-stuffed stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, and pumpkin pie. How are these items going to be pulled together you ask? Good question. I have been following and drooling over Robin Robertson’s blog http://veganplanet.blogspot.com/ for over a week now. Her posts are a pretty good start for me.

More importantly than the big day; leftovers. This is where the real magic happens. I am looking more forward to making a mean sandwich out of leftover stuffing, mashed potatoes, roasted brussels sprouts, and a slice or two of swiss cheese. Crammed and smashed in between two slices of whole grain bread and toasted on the George Foreman.

What is your favorite Thanksgiving leftover creation?

Leave a Reply

